South Carolina SR22 Insurance

South Carolina SR22

South Carolina SR22 Insurance

What is a South Carolina SR22?

The South Carolina SR22 form is required for three years from the end of suspension or in some cases from the beginning of compliance. If the driver is issued a provisional license, an SR-22 must be maintained for that 6 month period. In the event you do not own a vehicle, and are required to file an SR22, you can purchase a South Carolina Non-Owner SR22.

How Do You Get an SR22 Insurance Policy?

  1. Most insurance companies won’t add an SR22 to your policy. In fact, there are many insurance companies that will cancel your policy immediately once you notify them of an SR22 requirement. You may want to check rates before going to your current insurance company.
  2. If you don’t have insurance yet, or want to find cheaper auto insurance, you can use our service to compare rates for sr22 insurance companies.
  3. Provide the insurance company your case information so that your SR22 Certificate can be filed electronically.
  4. Confirm that your Certificate was received and entred into the DMV’s system.

Watch the Video for the FASTEST Way to Get Your South Carolina Driver’s License Reinstated:

 What If I Let My SR22 Insurance Lapse or Cancel?

It is critical that never allow your SR22 to lapse. If you do, you could be facing additional fines and / or the State may start your suspension period over. If you are considering switching insurance companies, it is recommended to get confirmation from the new company that the policy is in force before cancelling the old policy.

South Carolina Liability Insurance Requirements

The state of South Carolina requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Suspended License Reinstatement

There are numerous reasons why a driver would need to file an SR-22 with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. Below is a list of the most common:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI)
    • 1st offense is 6 month suspension
    • 2nd offense is 1 year suspension
    • 3rd offense is 2 year suspension
  • Driving while license is suspended
  • Operating an uninsured vehicle
    • Indefinite suspension period with $550 reinstatement fee
  • Failure to maintain a South Carolina SR22

Each one of these violation has it’s own suspension period which can be found at the DMV website.

The average fee to reinstate your license is $100, unless otherwise stated.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in South Carolina

It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in South Carolina if you have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. The amount of your penalty fine and suspension period will vary depending on how high your BAC registers.

Drivers under the age of 21 who have a BAC of .02 or higher are considered to be driving under the influence. Commercial drivers also have a strict limit which they must stay under, which is .04.

Implied Consent Law in South Carolina

When you get your drivers license in South Carolina you consent to a chemical test of your BAC. If you refuse this test your license will be suspended for at least 90 days and you could still be charged with a DUI. A South Carolina SR22 may be required if you’re convicted.

Required to Get an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?

This device prevents you from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. If you are required to install one of these devices it must be installed by a certified installation facility and the device must comply with all state laws.

If you are convicted of a second offense for the following violations you are required to have and IID:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Driving with an  unlawful alcohol concentration
  • Causing great bodily injury or death while driving under the influence

Can I Refuse to Have the IID Installed?

Yes, but if you do refuse, your license will be suspended for three years… or until you decide to install the Ignition Interlock Device.

What If I Don’t Own a Vehicle?

If you do not own a vehicle, but are required to have an IID, you must certify that you will not drive any vehicle other than one owned by your employer and that you will not own a vehicle during the IID restriction period. It is possible, however, to have the IID installed in someone else’s vehicle as long as you have their written permission to do so.

FR44 & SR22 Experts Specialize in South Carolina SR22 policies. Call today or complete our quoting engine for the lowest price and best advice!

FR44 & SR22 Experts – 1-855-678-6977