Kansas SR22 Insurance

Kansas SR22 Insurance

If you’re required to carry a Kansas SR22, this article will explain what you’ll need.

Learn More About Kansas SR22 Insurance:

Kansas SR22 Insurance Explained

The state of Kansas may require you to carry a Kansas SR22 insurance policy for up to 3 years for one of the following violations:

  • Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of drugs and/or alcohol
  • Reckless driving
  • Evading a police officer
  • Operating a motor vehicle on a suspended, revoked, or canceled license
  • Driving without insurance

The Kansas SR22 is an add on to a standard auto insurance policy that guarantees the state will be notified of any change in status and is commonly referred to as a future financial responsibility filing. You can change insurance companies but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.

What if I let my Kansas SR22 insurance policy lapse?

Once your SR22 insurance policy has lapsed the insurance company is required to notify the state department of motor vehicles. Your driving privileges are then suspended and future action may include:

  • Additional suspension, cancellation, or revocation period
  • Possible jail sentence depending on reason
  • SR22 period will start over
  • Higher reinstatement fees and possible other violations

How much will a Kansas SR22 increase my auto insurance?

The cost to add an SR22 form to your auto insurance is usually $25-$50 depending on the company you choose. There is no set increase that your auto insurance will increase due to the SR22 rather the insurance will increase due to the violation that is requiring you to get the SR22. For example if you have been convicted of a DUI the cost of insurance will increase dramatically for at least 3 years. We suggest getting quotes from multiple insurance companies so you can find the lowest rate. We offer a service to compare up to 5 different companies in less than 5 minutes.

Kansas SR22  Requirements

The state of Kansas requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Kansas SR22 Insurance, Cheapest Kansas SR22 Insurance

Suspended License Information and Reinstatement

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver’s license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

Court ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court while other suspensions may require an SR-22. You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Kansas

Under Kansas law, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC limit above the stated limit. BAC stands for blood alcohol content. The following are limits set by law:

All Drivers – BAC LIMIT = 0.08%

Minor Drivers (under age 21) – BAC LIMIT = 0.02%

Commercial Drivers – BAC LIMIT = 0.04%

Implied Consent Law

If you refuse to submit a chemical test in Kansas these are the following penalties:

  • First Refusal of Test – Drivers license suspension for 1 year
  • Second Refusal of Test – Drivers license suspension for 2 years
  • Third Refusal of Test – Drivers license suspension for 3 years
  • Fourth Refusal of Test – Drivers license suspension for 10 years
  • Fifth Refusal of Test – Drivers license revoked for lifetime

2013 Kansas DUI Laws

Kansas Senate Bill 368 – Concerns driving under the   influence of alcohol or drugs, and penalties for more than one violation. The most notable change relates to  a third DUI conviction; offenders will serve a 72 hour  jail sentence prior to being eligible to   participate in a work release program.

Kansas Senate Bill 586 – Increases penalties for multiple   convictions of driving under the influence. Most notable change is on a fourth or   subsequent DUI conviction a person would be guilty of a felony and   sentenced to not less than 180 days in Jail.