Iowa Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Iowa Non Owner SR22 Insurance

How can you get your Iowa Driver’s License reinstated without a vehicle? You could qualify for an Iowa Non Owner SR22. If you’re looking for an Iowa SR22 Owner policy, Click Here.

What is an Iowa Non Owner SR22?

The State of Iowa requires drivers who have had their license suspended (e.g., OWI suspension) to purchase SR22 insurance as a condition of reinstatement. When one purchases SR22 insurance, the insurance company files an SR22 form (also known as a Certificate of Automobile Liability Insurance) with the Iowa Department of Transportation.

If you are trying to get your driver’s license reinstated, but you do not own a vehicle, you will need to purchase non-owner SR22 insurance. Your insurance company will then file a non-owner SR22 insurance form for you.

How to Get Your Iowa Driver’s License Reinstated Quickly

A non-owner SR22 insurance policy is a liability policy that only covers other vehicles and drivers in the event that you are involved in a future accident. It will not cover you or the vehicle you are driving.

Iowa Non-Owner SR22 Insurance and Ignition Interlock Law

If, at the time of your OWI, your bodily alcohol content was higher than 0.10 or if your OWI involved an accident, you will need to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.

If you are in this situation, you will likely need to purchase an owner’s SR22 insurance policy to cover the vehicle with the IID.

Iowa Non Owner SR22 Insurance Facts

  • Non owner SR22 insurance covers only one person
  • Non owner SR22 insurance is not for individuals who own a vehicle
  • Non owner SR22 insurance does not include vehicles in the policyholder’s household
  • Non owner SR22 insurance does not cover rental or commercial vehicles
  • Non owner SR22 insurance coverage is a liability only policy, and does not include comprehensive or collision coverage

How Long Do I Need To Maintain  Iowa Non Owner SR22 Insurance?

Iowa State typically requires drivers who are required to file an SR22 certificate to carry insurance coverage for three years.

Cheap Iowa Non Owner SR22 Insurance

What Offenses Warrant an SR22 Insurance Requirement?

Besides driving without mandated liability insurance, other offenses will constitute grounds for the SR22 requirement.

  • Child support or neglect cases
  • Excessive points against a driver’s record
  • DUI or DWI offenses
  • Uninsured accidents
  • Failure to take a breath or blood test

What Is the Minimum Amount of Liability Insurance Mandated by Iowa  State?

  • $20,000 property damage incurred in one accident
  • $40,000 for two or more persons in one accident
  • $15,000 bodily injury for one person in one accident