Tag Archives: Florida FR44 Insurance

Determining the Status of Your Florida Driver’s License

Determine the Status of Your Florida Driver’s License

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) and the courts have the ability to suspend or revoke your driver’s license on a variety of grounds.

Sometimes, your driver’s license can be suspended without your knowing it. It’s easy to check the status of your license when you look at your driving record.

Check Your Driving Record

Your driving record report will advise you if your driver’s license is currently valid or whether it’s suspended or revoked. The record will also show points against your license and, in some cases, any accidents you have had.

You can order your driving record in one of three ways: online, in person, or through the mail.

  • Order Driving Record In Person
    1. Complete and notarize a Request for Personal Information if you want your personal information shown on the record.
    2. Be ready to pay the $2.10 or $3.10 fee, depending on whether you want a certified copy and how far back you want to go.
    3. Visit your County Clerk’s office. You may want to call in advance to see which forms of payment are accepted.
  • Order Driving Record By Mail
    1. Write a letter asking for your record or the record of the individual you’re researching. Remember to include your full name, your date of birth, social security number, and Florida driver’s license.
    2. Fill out and notarize the Request for Personal Information if you are ordering your own record and want your personal information visible on it.
    3. Include a check or money order to cover the fee. It’s $2.10 for a one year history, or $3.10 to go back completely or for a certified copy.
    4. If you can wait two weeks for the receipt, mail the application and fee to:
      • Bureau of Records
      • P.O. Box 5775
      • Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775
    5. To request that your record is sent by next-day delivery, send to:
      • Bureau of Records
      • 2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 90
      • Tallahassee, FL 32399-0575

Suspended in All States?

If you move and have a suspended license in your old state, you won’t be able to get a new driver’s license in your new state, either. This is because of the National Driver Register (NDR) and the Driver License Compact, both of which tell other states if you’re suspended anywhere in the U.S.

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License

If you drive on a suspended license, your penalties depend on the circumstances. You could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. The DHSMV provides a special bulletin you can download that highlights the penalties for driving on a suspended license.

Contact an Attorney

If you’re being charged with a felony for driving on a suspended license, you may want to get advice from an attorney. An experienced attorney may help lower your costs and penalties.

Obtain a Restricted License

Some people may have the option of getting a hardship license so they can drive to and from work. Whether you qualify depends on factors like your offense and how many points you have.

To find out if you qualify, you need to contact your local Administrative Reviews office. To find your office, look under your county’s listing for a heading that reads “Under Suspension – Need Driver License for Work,” and a phone number to call.

If you need more assistance with obtaining a hardship license, seek legal advice.

Reinstate Your License

When you’re allowed to reinstate your license―and the requirements you must fulfill to do so―depends on the reason for your license suspension.

Some of these scenarios may cause your insurance to jump; you may be able to get a lower rate if you shop around.

The process differs slightly from scenario to scenario, and you may want to consult an attorney before you get started. Here are a few examples:

Reinstate for Child Support Delinquency

  1. To get your license back, you must become current on your support and get affidavit Form # DHSMV 73986 from the clerk of the court, child support agency, or depository.
  2. Bring this and a $60 fee in to your County Clerk’s office.
  3. If you received the affidavit before your license got suspended, the fee will be waived. Just show them the date on the affidavit to prove it.

Habitual Traffic Offender

  1. Your license is suspended for five years. After one year, you can ask for a hardship license from the Administrative Reviews office.
  2. You must attend driver improvement. If you got a DUI, you’ll need to go to DUI school.
  3. After five years, you’ll have to request a new license from the Administrative Reviews office (the same place that gave you your hardship license).

Violation Resulting in Death or Personal Injury (Not a DUI)

  1. Your license will be suspended for a year.
  2. You’ll have to take Advanced Driver Training and an exam.
  3. You’ll have to pay $35 to reinstate your license, plus license fees.

Failure to Comply with Traffic Summons or Pay a Fine

  1. You’ll have to pay your fines at a traffic court or online, if your county allows.
  2. Bring your payment proof to a DMV office and pay a $60 fee.

Keep Your Record Clean

There are many ways to get your license suspended. The state has an interactive quiz that tests your knowledge of how your license may be suspended. Try it out.

In the meantime, avoid:

Giving False Information on a License Application

If you give wrong information on your driver’s license application, your license will be suspended. You may request a hearing, but if you’re found to have committed fraud, you’ll have to pay fines and wait for a period before obtaining a new license.

Getting Too Many Points

Getting citations resulting in too many point violations on your record.

  • 12 points in 12 months: 30 day suspension.
  • 18 points in 18 months: Three month suspension.
  • 24 points in 36 months: 12 month suspension.

Refusing to Comply with State Laws

Your license is used as a compliance tool in law enforcement. If you don’t stop for a school bus, are using tobacco if you’re under age 18, or don’t pay your child support, you can have your license suspended.

Refusing a Blood Alcohol Test

Under state law, you must take a blood alcohol test when you’re suspected of driving under the influence. Your license could be suspended even if you’re innocent, if you fail to comply.

Lacking Florida Insurance

You must have current and adequate Florida insurance with $10,000 minimum personal injury protection and $10,000 minimum property coverage to drive. If you don’t, you face a suspended license.

Remember, you must get your insurance from a company licensed in the state.

Ignoring Your Traffic Tickets

If you’ve gotten traffic tickets that you don’t pay, or if you don’t appear in court when you’re supposed to, your driver’s license can get suspended. Your signing the ticket when you receive it means that you’re acknowledging you will take care of the ticket.

Getting a DUI

A DUI results in an automatic suspension. How long the suspension lasts depends on how many times it’s happened. Suspension times vary from 180 days to permanent revocation.

INFORMATION RE-POSTED FROM DMV.ORG

Florida FR44 Insurance Now Requires Full Payment

Florida FR44 insurance now requires full payment – Low cost polices still available to smart buyers!

As of May 4th 2012, Florida car insurance policies with Florida FR44 filing may not be cancelled by the insured or company after 30 days. The initial 30 day period is to allow the insurance company to complete its underwriting. After the company determines the risk eligible, according to its rules and guidelines, the non cancellable provision becomes effective. At this time, the company will notify the DMV and the DUI driver can reinstate their license.

From now on, most companies will only offer a paid in full bill plan for such policies. It’s very important to shop around because some companies will still offer a payment plan, although they might be soon to follow. Also, with any of the companies requiring the policy to be paid in full, the coverage on the  policy cannot be changed during the policy period and the premium is non refundable. Any changes to the risk will require a new policy to be purchased and paid in full. If the new policy is from the same company,
then they may apply a credit from the old policy to the new one.

This action will ensure that a DUI driver will have continuous Florida FR44 insurance with 100/300/50 liability in effect, for at least 6 months, after they reinstate their license. Having the proper insurance is good for everyone concerned, however, having to pay for it all at once will be unaffordable for some, leaving them without. Their license will remain suspended and any driving they may do invites additional harsh consequences.

Handcuff Picture

With some companies, even drivers who have had a Florida DUI insurance policy continuously in force without any lapse and paid monthly, must pay their renewal in full. The new mandate is very unfair to all these policyholders and many of them will simply be unable to pay. This will cause their license to be suspended and subject to additional reinstatement fees when they are finally able to afford a paid in full policy.

With low loss ratios and cancellations, Florida FR44 insurance policies are profitable for companies and many are competing for this business with sensible rates. The new rule will make the policies even more attractive for insurance companies which will have a price reducing effect for consumers. In the meantime however, it simply means the policyholder will have to “come up with the cash” for a paid in full policy with some companies to keep their license active. Some drivers who are unable to pay will inevitably drive without car insurance, making the mandate counterproductive in this circumstance.

Most people agree that driving while intoxicated is dangerous and should be dealt with aggressively to reduce the number of incidences. I do not believe this aggressive action will have much of an effect at reducing the number of DUI drivers, and may increase the number that drive without insurance. Punishing policyholders who have been compliant by maintaining their insurance and Florida FR44 filing in good standing, and forcing them to pay for their renewal premium in full, seems unjust to me.  I believe “Anyone can easily make this mistake and most learn their lesson the first time.” Targeting repeat offenders and those that do not maintain their required insurance would be a better approach.

Article Information Source (in part): floridafr44.com

Florida FR44 Or Virginia FR44 – Non-Owner and Owner Policies

What Is An FR44?

In some states, such as Virginia and Florida, an FR44 Filing may be required when you have a DUI / DWI / OVWI or other alcohol related violation. An FR44 filing is similar in theory to an SR 22, except that it may indicate that you maintain more than just the minimum amount of coverage required by the state requesting it.

If you need an FR44, you will likely be required to purchase more than just the minimum amount of liability insurance.  Our agents can help you to determine what the requirements for insurance are for your state, based on your situation.  Depending on the sate in which you reside, we will help you to determine which form to use, either the SR22 or FR44.

Cheap Florida FR44 Insurance, Cheap Virginia FR44 Insurance

The terms “SR22 insurance” and “FR44 insurance”, much like “DUI Insurance”, are used by the general public, but are not official types of insurance.  Our agency helps with auto insurance for people who have a DUI or DWI on their records, as well as adding an SR22 or FR44 Filing to the insurance policy.  When you contact us, we can help explain in better detail what these terms mean.

What information do I need?

In many situations you may receive a case number.  This is usually a 9 digit number (no letters). Please make sure to provide us with your case number so that we can have the FR44 form issued correctly.  If you have your DUI / DWI conviction date available, that would be helpful as well.

To obtain an estimate for the price of insurance with an FR44 only takes a few moments.  When you are ready to purchase your insurance, we can provide you with a new temporary ID card and FR44 in the same day.

How can www.SR22Coverage.com help me?

We shop a variety on insurance carriers in over 39 states to help you compare the rates and coverage options so that you can choose the price and amount of coverage that works for you.  Immediate quotes are available for SR22’s or FR44’s.  Our licensed insurance professionals work hard to understand your needs and to be here for you.

Partial Article Information Obtained From: http://www.stratumins.com/dui/what_is_an_fr44.htm

Getting the Best Bang for your Buck – Shopping Florida FR44 Insurance

Simply put, you MUST work with an Experienced Florida FR44 Insurance broker that shops multiple carriers.  Working with a captive company/agent like a GEICO, State Farm, or Allstate (that don’t really offer or are not in the market for FR44’s) is a recipe for expensive premiums.  FR44 & SR22 Experts, LLC works with companies that exclusively work with drivers that have:

  • Multiple Traffic Violations
  • Suspension of  their driver’s license
  • Drunk driving violation(s)
  • Driving without insurance violations

Simply put, we can get you the best deal because we shop multiple carriers that are geared toward handling FR44 filings.  Companies like PEAK property and Casualty a/k/a Sentry Insurance, Progressive, Foremost, Gainsco and others.  These companies WANT your business and we will find you that sweetheart-of-a-deal you are looking for.  Many times we are priced at 1/4 of the price of our competitors, simply because we can explore multiple options.  Rest assured, FR44 & SR22 Experts, LLC has over 10,000 customers and know how to get you back on the road, painlessly and quickly.

Many times, a driver will find themselves where they exceed the maximum allowed number of violations within a certain time period.  That or a Personal Injury claim has occurred, inhibiting the driver from being able to obtain coverage at all.  That’s not a problem.  We have over a decade of experience and we can help.  We can show you the ropes and help you obtain coverage when other places are telling you no or wanting ridiculous prices.

If you problem is needing an FR44 but you have a license in another state, we can help you fulfill this requirement as well.  We are licensed in multiple states and can satisfy your out of state FR44 requirements.

Call us at 1-855-MY SR22 or 1-855-678-6977 or fill out our Guaranteed be$t rate FR44 Form to get started.

Florida FR44 Insurance Companies

Insurance Company Listing

Peak Property and Casualty Insurance Company a/k/a Dairyland Insurance –  offers FR44 policies paid in full only to select clients.

Mercury Insurance Company was established in 1962 by George Joseph in Los Angeles. A.M. Best Company has rated Mercury an A+ “Excellent” company. Celebrating their 50th anniversary in 2012, Mercury believes one reason for their success is the trust they’ve built with customers. Forbes magazine has named Mercury one of “America’s Most Trustworthy Companies.” Mercury gives full support to their independent agents.

Mercury consistently maintains very strict underwriting (qualifying) rules and guidelines which enables them to  keep rates low. Policies requiring the FR44 filing may take as long as two weeks for approval by the company. Generally, the DUI can be the only blemish on the driving record. Mercury currently offers payment plans for FR44  policies and allows for electronic signatures which eases and expedites the application process. If you qualify, this is a great company to be insured with.

Infinity Insurance Company is a top leader in quality insurance services and products. This company has been successful since 1950 and their headquarters are located in Birmingham, Alabama. Infinity Insurance Company consistently receives high ratings for financial strength by all the reputable rating agencies.

Successful applicants approved for a policy with FR44 will have to pay for the insurance in full without the benefit of any type of payment plan. Although the company does not allow for a non owner FR44 policy, they will provide non owner policy for a Florida SR22. Successful applicants will have their FR44 filed within 24 to 48 hours. The company provides for electronic signatures. Infinity also offers policies for commercial trucks and vehicles, which can also have a filing. From our experience here at the agency, they have become quite competitive recently. They are eager for business, and there low rates demonstrate that.

Foremost Insurance Group Company, headquartered in Grand Rapids, Michigan, was founded on June 12, 1952 by Edward J. Frey, Edward L. Stoddard and several investors. Foremost was acquired by the Farmers Insurance Group on March 12, 2000. The financial strength of Foremost Insurance Group was rated A by the rating company A.M. Best. They accept most types of drivers with different driving histories.

Handcuff Picture

Foremost is one of the more flexible companies that we work with. They will accept a wide variety of vehicle types and drivers with varied histories, including those with a currently suspended license, and filings are completed within 24 to 48 hours. Another great thing about Foremost is that a hard copy of your FR44 certificate is available immediately after purchasing the policy. With many companies you will have to wait for the certificate due to the special handling and processing that certificates require. Whether you need an FR44 or SR22 filed, or just want to
save some money on your current policy, Foremost is an excellent company with a great track record and competitive prices.

Progressive Insurance Company was started on March 10, 1937 by two lawyers named Joseph Lewis and Jack Green and became a public company in 1971. Progressive auto insurance can be purchased online, by phone or through independent insurance agents. Progressive also offers insurance for motorcycles, boats, commercial vehicles, snowmobiles, RV’s and more.

Like Foremost, Progressive is a very flexible company and will offer FR44 policies with many different violations on the driving record. Also, the FR44 filing can be done with motorcycle insurance Progressive which is often considerably less than a car insurance policy. Policies can be written while a driver license is suspended and filings are completed within 24 to 48 hours. Progressive does not offer payment plans for FR44 policies.

Progressive makes purchasing insurance very simple and easy. After you submit your down payment, you can sign the application online and print out your ID cards right from home! It only takes a few minutes. Also, this company has always been a leader in quality customer service. And just one example of how they do that is they are open 24/7 to answer questions, take payments, and help with any concerns you may have. You can also make payments, changes, or check your coverages right online with ease anytime. Their new snapshot program is just another way you can save with this company. Safe drivers can save up to 30%. “Now that’s Progressive!”

GMAC Insurance Personal Lines Group is one of the largest automobile insurers in the United States. GMAC Insurance Personal Lines Group offers property and casualty products, including personal auto, RV, motorcycle, commercial auto and more. With a nationwide network of claims professionals and a 24-hour, toll-free claims hotline available 365 days a year, GMAC Insurance provides superior claims service for its customers.

GMAC has strict underwriting rules and guidelines which disqualifies many drivers, but keeps rates low for others. This company will offer a policy for FR44 only if insured has prior Bodily Injury Liability of a least 25/50. There are other restrictions however, even if prior is 25/50, such as territory may not be open for new business and there must be an equal number of drivers and vehicles.

Travelers Insurance Company’s main offices are located in New York, N.Y., Hartford, Connecticut and Saint Paul, Minnesota. Field or branch locations are in all 50 states, Canada, Ireland and the United Kingdom. Traveler’s is one of the largest property casualty companies and the second largest writer of commercial U.S. property insurance. This is a great company to be insured with and we are privileged to be working with them, however, they do not offer policies to any driver convicted of a DUI.

Kingsway Amigo does not offer a policy when your license is suspended and does not offer a rate when SR22 or FR44 is required.

Windhaven does not offer FR44 polices and they do not offer BI higher than 10/20 for any policy. They do
however offer SR22 owners policies.

Allstate provides FR44 policies but only to their current clients.

State Farm does not offer FR44 insurance.

GEICO offers FR44 policies paid in full only to select clients.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(original article located at http://floridafr44.com/fr44insurancecompanies.html)

Florida FR44 Filing Process- How to Reinstate Your License

Florida FR44 insurance is car insurance which meets certain coverage and  procedural requirements as prescribed by law. This regulation must be satisfied  and maintained for DUI drivers to keep a valid Florida license. Increased  limits, reporting compliance and a $15.00 fee are mandatory. These additions to a car insurance policy are similar requirements other high risk drivers  experience. Unique to a Florida DUI insurance policy is the high liability  limits of 100/300/50; ten times the financial responsibility requirement for  drivers with out a DUI.

The FR44 filing (Uniform Financial Responsibility Certificate) is the method  used to verify insurance compliance for convicted DUI drivers. The Certificate  (Form) is filed (submitted) to the Florida Bureau of Financial Responsibility  electronically by the insurance company after policy purchase. This process is  the last step in getting back a valid Florida license. First a policy is  purchased from a Florida authorized insurance company which secures the  Financial Responsibility case number from the MVR. This is a tracking number  assigned to each individual DUI driver. The driver license can be reinstated  when the DMV data base is refreshed indicating your compliance and eligibility.  Naturally, a reinstatement fee will apply.

The compliance period is for three years and insurance companies are required  to notify the State if a policy is terminated for any reason. If The DUI driver  does not replace coverage with a new eligible policy then their license will be  suspended. Reinstatement occurs only after the process is repeated and  additional elevated reinstatement fees are paid.  Contact FR44 & SR22 Experts, LLC for your Florida FR44 Insurance filing needs at 1-855-678-6977 or click here for a free quote.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/4564919

What Forms Do I Need for FR44 Insurance in Florida?

FR-44 forms are submitted to the Bureau of Financial Responsibility by your insurance company on your behalf. If you don’t submit the FR-44, or you fail to meet and maintain the requirements laid out in the FR-44 form, your driver’s license and vehicle registration will be suspended. This is serious stuff. And don’t go thinking you can simply cancel your insurance policy with your current insurer to avoid the FR44. They are required by law to notify the Bureau of Financial Responsibly of the cancellation by submiting an FR-46 form. This may mean your license is suspended.

Fr-44 forms are submitted to Florida’s Bureau of Financial Responsibility by insurance companies on behalf of the policyholder. Failure to maintain the Fr-44 requirement will result in driver’s license and vehicle registration suspensions. Insurance companies are required to notify the Bureau of Financial Responsibly of cancellation of insurance by submitting form Fr-46 to the bureau.

Handcuff Picture

The FR-44 form is similar to the SR-22 form, but they are still both in use in Florida. The SR-22 is generally used to provide evidence of insurance for convictions other than DUI.

Make sure to compare several DUI insurance deals to see what you can save on your insurance. You may also find it useful it look at this publication Dui Process, Clear Your Drunk Driving Record – a simple step-by-step guide to what you might be able to do to reduce your DUI record.

So, if you have been convicted of a DUI and must submit an FR-44, compare auto insurance deals NOW to see what might still be available to you even with your poor driving record.

Florida DUI, SR22 & FR44 Insurance

Florida DUI Laws & Penalties

Florida DUI law is probably tougher than DUI law in most other states. Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same, regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.
When you first get arrested for a DUI in Florida you probably sat in jail waiting to be released wondering why in the world they were keeping you so long? Well, here’s the specific criteria that must be met for the police to release someone after being arrested for a DUI offense in Florida:
  • The person is no longer under the influence and the person’s normal faculties are no longer impaired
  • The person’s blood/breath alcohol level is lower than 0.05; or eight hours have elapsed from the time the person was arrested.

 

Handcuff Picture
Here’s a brief overview of what you can expect if convicted of a DUI offense in Florida. The specific 1st offense DUI statute in Florida is 316.193 (3), F.S. and this is what it carries:

Florida DUI Fines

First DUI ConvictionNot less than $250, or more than $500. With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000.

Second DUI ConvictionNot less than $500, or more than $1,000. With BAL of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.Third Conviction More than 10 years: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,500. With BAL of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000.

Third DUI Conviction Within 10 years: Not more than $5,000. With BAL of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle. Not less than $2,000.

Fourth or Subsequent DUI ConvictionNot less than $1,000. With BAL of .20 or higher or minor in the vehicle. Not less than $2,000.a DUI Penalties

 

For 316.193 (3) F.S. you’ll have these requirements:

Florida First Offense DUI Penalties:

  • Mandatory 50 hours community service
  • Fines of $500 to $1,000
  • Probation (not to exceed 1 year)
  • Jail time not more than 6 months
  • Jail time not more than 9 months (BAC .20% or greater)
  • License revocation for 180 days (max 1 year). Must complete an approved Florida DUI school prior to being issued a restricted license during the suspension period.
  • Ignition interlock system required for first time offenders with a BAC level of .15% or greater. An ignition interlock device is also required for individuals who were arrested for DUI with a child in the car. Ignition interlock device must be installed for 6 months for first time offenders.
Florida Second Offense DUI Penalties
  • Mandatory 50 hours community service
  • Fines of $1,000 to $2,000
  • Jail time not more than 9 months
  • Jail time not more than 12 months (BAC .20% or greater) or passenger under 18 years of age in vehicle
  • Mandatory imprisonment of at least 10 days (48 hours must be consecutive)
  • License revocation for 5 years, may be eligible for hardship license after 1 year.
  • Ignition interlock system mandatory for 2 years minimum
  • DUI school must be completed following suspension period.
Florida Third Offense DUI Penalties
  • Mandatory 50 hours community service
  • Fines of $1,000 to $2,500
  • Mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days up to 12 months. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive.
  • Minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship license after 2 years.
  • Ignition interlock system mandatory
  • Completion of mandatory DUI treatment course
Florida Fourth or Subsequent DUI Offense Penalties
  • 3rd degree felony charge
  • Classification as habitual /violent offender.
  • Mandatory permanent drivers license revocation. No hardship eligibilities.
  • Fines of $1,000 to $5,000
  • Imprisonment not exceeding 5 years for life felony (habitual not exceeding 10 years)
Florida BAC Presumptions
  • BAC levels of .001% to .05% is presumed not to be under the influence
  • BAC levels of .051% to .079% is presumed not to be under the influence, but is admissible in court
  • BAC levels of .08% or greater are presumed to be under the influence
Florida Implied Consent Laws
  • Chemical testing is allowed. Breath test for alcohol and urine test for drugs. Blood test if an accident involves serious personal injury or death
  • Officer is required to advise the defendant of the penalties for test refusal
  • Test results of .08% or greater result in 6 month license suspension
  • Test refusal results in a 1 year to 18 month license suspension, which is admissible in criminal proceedings.
Chemical Testing
  • Chemical tests are presumed valid if the officer certifies substantial compliance with the laws and regulations of the Department of Law Enforcement
  • Blood test: Blood draws for police testing must be administered by a physician, nurse or other qualified person
  • Independent chemical testing by a qualified person is allowed. Defendant is responsible for all costs incurred with test
  • Test results must be made available to the defendant and the defendant’s Florida DUI lawyer, upon request
No matter if you are a first time offender or a repeat offender, your Florida DUI will carry serious consequences for your insurance premiums. You will either find that you are dropped by your insurance provider, or you will find that your premium cost skyrockets. This can even affect your family members that are on your insurance policy.

Florida Administrative Drivers License Hearing

In the state of Florida when arrested for a first offense DUI charge the arresting officer will confiscate the driver’s license and issue the driver what is referred to as a “Notice of Suspension”. This notice will act as the driver’s license for the next 10 days.
Important: A person who has been arrested on a first offense DUI charge in Florida only has 10 days from the date of arrest in which to request a hearing with the FLHSMV if they wish to avoid having their driving privileges automatically suspended for the next 6 months. If you hope to have a successful outcome at your hearing it is very important that you contact one of Florida DUI lawyers today to have our lawyers schedule your hearing and represent you at the hearing.
At the administrative license hearing the administrative hearing officer who has been assigned to hear your case will look at the evidence against you from the arresting officer including: BAC level at the time, field sobriety test results (if you submitted to them), and whether or not you submitted to a chemical test or refuse the chemical test.
The hearing officer will also hear testimony against you from the arresting officer and hear testimony in your favor from your lawyer, yourself, and any witnesses your lawyer has subpoenaed to appear at the hearing.

Florida DUI First Offense Penalties

Fines
A person convicted of a first offense DUI in court will face a fine amount of $500 to $1,000 for a blood/breath alcohol level of less than .15%. If the person’s BAL was above .15% or there was a minor in the vehicle at the time of driving under the influence the fine amount shall be not less than $1,000, and not more than $2,000.

 

Jail Time
A first offense DUI in Florida will result in a jail sentence of no more than 6 months in jail for a BAL of less than .15%. A BAL of .15% or greater, or with a minor in the vehicle at the time of driving will result in a jail sentence of up to 9 months.

 

Drivers License Suspension
A first offense DUI will result in the driver’s license being suspended for a minimum period of 180 days (if the driver was unsuccessful at winning their administrative drivers license hearing). If another person was killed or seriously injured as a result of the defendant’s DUI, their license will be revoked for 3-years with no chance of receiving a restricted license during the revocation period.

 

Before the FLHSMV will issue a restricted license during the suspension period the person must successfully complete the required DUI schooling. If the person waits out their suspension period they will be required to at minimum show proof of enrollment in a state approved DUI school prior to having their license fully reinstated. The driver must complete the DUI schooling within 90 days of having their license reinstated; otherwise their license will be cancelled and will not be reinstated until the person completes the required DUI School.

 

Ignition Interlock
For anyone arrested on a first offense DUI in Florida with a BAL of .15% or greater or a minor in the vehicle at the time, an ignition interlock device must be installed in their vehicle prior to being issued a restricted license or before full reinstatement of their license following the suspension period. The ignition interlock must remain in place for at least 6 months, possibly longer if deemed necessary.
DUI School
If you wish to obtain a hardship license during your suspension period you will need to complete an approved Florida DUI school prior to the DMV issuing you a hardship license. If you decide to wait out the suspension period, you will only need to show the DMV proof of enrollment in an approved DUI school prior to them reinstating your license following the suspension period.
Community Service
First time DUI offenders in Florida will also face a mandatory 50 hours of community service. If the person feels that are not able to perform community service they may be given the option of paying an additional fine in the amount of $10 for each hour of required community service, or $500 in additional fines.
Chemical Test Refusal
A first offense DUI chemical test refusal in Florida will result in a suspension period of 1-year with no chance of receiving a restricted license during the suspension period.

 

 Florida SR22 Insurance Information & Quotes

Once your suspension is over or you have been approved for a hardship or restricted license the FLHSMV will require you to file either an SR22 or FR44 insurance form with them. The only difference between an SR22 and an FR44 is the amount of liability coverage. An FR44 has twice the liability limits as an SR22 policy does.

You will be required to keep your SR22 or FR44 insurance filing with the Florida Department of Safety and Motor Vehicles for a period of 3-years from the date of being issued a hardship or restricted license or the full reinstatement of your license. If at any time during this 3-year filing period if there is a lapse in your insurance coverage your insurer is obligated by law to inform the FLHSMV of such a lapse.
If this happens the FLHSMV will send you a letter informing you that your driver’s license has been suspended and that you will have to pay another license reinstatement fee along with filing an SR22 form with them before they will issue you another license.

Once you become eligible for a hardship license or to have your license reinstated following your suspension period you will need to do the following:

1.    Signup for a Florida SR22/FR44 insurance policy.
2.    Take a copy of your SR22/FR44 policy to one of Florida’s DMV office locations.
3.    Pay the necessary reinstatement fees.
It is important that you avoid any lapse in your SR22/FR44 insurance coverage because a lapse in coverage will result in the mandatory 3-year SR22 or FR44 filing period with the FLHSMV starting all over again. For example, if you were 2-years into your SR22 filing period and had a lapse in insurance coverage, you would have to start the 3-year filing period from the beginning.
To avoid a lapse in coverage it is important to select a Florida SR22 or FR44 insurance policy with the lowest possible premium from the start. We have created a competitive quoting environment with the top SR22/FR44 insurance providers in the state of Florida. By clicking here you will receive  competitive Florida SR22/FR44 insurance quotes from the top insurance companies in your state.

Florida FR44 Insurance Information

If a driver in Florida is convicted of an alcohol related offense (e.g., DUI) after October 1, 2007, he or she will need to file an FR44 form with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. This means that he or she will need to purchase Florida FR44 insurance.
Florida FR44 insurance is a high-risk liability insurance that establishes an agreement between an insurance company and the DMV. An insurance company files an FR44 form with the DMV, which ensures the DMV that a high risk driver is in fact insured. If that high-risk driver becomes uninsured for any reason, the insurance company files an FR46 form with the DMV, which alerts the DMV that this high-risk driver is no longer covered by a liability policy.
FR44 insurance provides liability insurance in the following amounts:
  • $100,000 for injury or death to one person in one accident
  • $300,000 for injury or death to more than one person in one accident
  • $50,000 for damage to property in one accident

How to Get Florida FR44 Insurance

Finding Florida FR44 insurance doesn’t have to be a long and complicated process. We have partnered with the top insurance companies in Florida to make this as quick and easy as possible for you.

How to Get Your Florida Driver’s License Reinstated after a DUI

To reinstate your Florida driver’s license after a first offense DUI:
  • Complete DUI School (and treatment if ordered)
  • Pay Administrative Fee of $130
  • Pay Revocation Reinstatement Fee of $75
  • Pay License Fee of $48
  • Buy FR44 Insurance
To reinstate your Florida driver’s license after a subsequent DUI, do all of the above, and install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. (This will cost about $182 plus a $67.50 monthly fee.)

Florida Hardship Driver’s License

All hardship license applicants must fulfill all the reinstatement requirements, including FR44 insurance.
First time DUI offenders may apply for a hardship license in the county in which they live.
If this is your second offense within 5 years, you may apply for a hardship license after serving one year of revocation. If this is your third offense within 10 years of a second offense, you may apply for a hardship license after serving 2 years of your revocation. If this is your fourth or subsequent offense, you may apply for a hardship license after serving 10 years of your revocation.
In order to apply for a hardship permit, a subsequent offender must receive a favorable recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program and must remain in the Special Supervision Services Program for the remainder of his or her revocation period.

Florida Ignition Interlock Law

If this is your first offense DUI, you may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If this is your first offense DUI, and you had a BAC of 0.15 or higher, you will be ordered to keep an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for at least 6 months. Subsequent DUI offenders are also required to install IIDs in their vehicles, for the following periods of time:
  • 2nd offense – at least 1 year
  • 2nd offense w/ BAC of 0.15 or higher – at least 2 years
  • 3rd offense – at least 2 years
  • 4th or subsequent offense – at least 5 years

 

For More Information:
For more information about driver’s license reinstatement or Florida FR44 insurance, call the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at 850-617-2000.

FR44 Florida Auto Insurance Facts For DUI Drivers

FR44 Insurance Requirements:
Liability requirements are a minimum of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident of Bodily Injury Liability and $50,000 of Property Damage Liability. A single combined limit of $300,000 is also acceptable. The financial responsibility requirement for other drivers in Florida is 10/20/10. After a policy is issued it cannot be cancelled. Compliance period is for three years. The filing must be on a Florida insurance policy.
FR44 Policy Types:
In addition to a car or truck policy a non-owner or motorcycle policy is acceptable. These two types exclude Personal Injury Protection which is very expensive and required on every car or truck policy. The non-owner policy is only available to drivers who do not own a vehicle, and do not have regular access to one. The motorcycle insurance policyis the least restrictive and often the least expensive way to file.
Florida FR44 Companies:
The well-known companies listed here demonstrate the wide variety of offers coming from different providers. Available through independent agents are; Progressive, Dairyland and Foremost accepting most drivers, Mercury and Infinity which are more restrictive, and Travelers which declines altogether. Foremost and Progressive is the only ones offering monthly payments. Others include; Allstate accommodating current clients only, Geico requiring payment in full, and the biggest company of all, unlike a good neighbor, rejects totally.
FR44 Insurance Cost:
The State filing fee is just 15.00 dollars. However, Increased liability limits, removal of safe driver discounts, and placement into a less favorable rating tier account for much more. Over time, maintaining high limits and continuous prior insurance provide significant discounts that reduce rates. Also, this risk group has been very profitable for companies (agents too) and therefore competition will likely increase. After 3 years rating points from the DUI are removed while discounts continue.
Form Completion:
Required information is derived from the MVR and policy application and includes the name, address, license number, and birth date of insured, and name, effective date, NAIC code, policy number of company, and FR44 case number from the MVR. The policy type is indicated as either owners policy with the year, make, model, and VIN of all registered

vehicles, or operators (non-owner) policy, applicable to any vehicle not registered or titled to insured. Authorized representative signature and date prepared completes form. FR44 Filing: The completed form is filed (submitted) to Florida’s Bureau of Financial Responsibility. After June 30, 2009 all companies must submit filings electronically. The DMV does not accept proof from policyholders. Companies are required to notify the bureau when there is a cancellation, termination, or lapse of a policy for any reason. Buying from a company that files at point of sale accelerates the process. Choose a company that files instantly in order to reinstate your license quickly. Miscellaneous Facts: The actual name of the form is the Florida Uniform Financial Responsibility Certificate FR-44. Florida statute 324.023 is applicable and effective after October 1, 2007. There are no driving restrictions associated with such a filing. Driver exclusions are not permitted on a policy. There cannot be more than one FR44, or FR44 and SR22, on the same driver. Noncompliance results in license and vehicle registration suspension.
The entire staff at Select Insurance Group is dedicated to helping DUI drivers through the Florida Fr44 insurance process. Our experience is evident the moment you call for a quote or need your questions answered. Select Insurance Group  provides competitive FR44 Florida auto insurance quotes. www.selectsr22insurance.com.  855-GET-SELECT (855-438-7353)