Tag Archives: california non owner sr22 insurance

Cheap SR22 Insurance in California for Owners and Non Owners

What is California SR22 Insurance?

A CA SR22 document is issued by your insurance company to serve as a guarantee to the DMV that you have secured the minimum liability coverage required by state law. The California SR22 is required of drivers who have had their driver’s license suspended. California SR22 coverage provides monitoring, in effect, as the insurance company is required to notify the DMV if you allow your coverage to lapse. If you do allow your coverage to lapse, your driver’s license status will return to “suspended” status.

Who needs a California SR22?

Any driver whose license is suspended by the DMV must obtain an SR22 filing to reinstate their driver’s license in the state of California. In most states, one’s driver’s license may be suspended for a number of reasons, including drunk driving; too many moving violations within a one-year period; outstanding traffic and parking fines; accidents in which the driver was uninsured; and violation of DMV regulations.

How do I get a California SR22 Insurance policy?

To obtain a California SR22 filing, you must purchase minimum liability coverage on all vehicles registered to you, whether they are operational or non-operational. For those who do not own a vehicle, “non-owners” liability coverage is required.

How long do I need a California SR22 Filing?

The minimum period for SR22 filing is three years, though it may be longer, based on the severity of the violation(s).

How long has FR44 & SR22 Experts been helping California drivers with their SR22 filings?

FR44 & SR22 Experts has been helping drivers in California for more than a decade. We’re experts at helping California drivers get the best SR22 policies at the very best prices.

How do I reinstate my license?

The DMV determines when your driver’s license may be reinstated. DMV fees, typically a $10 reinstatement fee, are required to reactivate your driver’s license. In addition, any parking or moving violation judgments or fines will need to be resolved before reinstatement, as well.

In order to secure the best pricing for your SR22 and auto coverage, your current DMV Driving Record (MVR) Report will be needed. If you do not have a copy of your driving record, we can generate one in our offices for a $7 fee.

What if I don’t own a vehicle?

Not a problem! FR44 & SR22 Experts offers different “non-owner’s” or “Named Operator” policies in California to choose from. These policies are typically cheaper than conventional auto insurance policies and provide liability coverage for you while you are driving a vehicle that is not owned or registered to you. Your California SR22 follows your license, not your vehicle.

Why choose FR44 & SR22 Experts for your SR-22?

FR44 & SR22 Experts makes sure your policy is written correctly THE FIRST TIME so that you can avoid future fees or delays which can cause your California license to be suspended again.

You can call and speak with one of our Licensed FR44 & SR22 Experts SR22 Specialist at any time, if you need a quote or have questions about your policy.

As a broker, we will shop and re-shop your policy occasionally (at no cost to you) to ensure that you are always paying the lowest rates, no matter what type of policy you purchase from FR44 & SR22 Experts.

DUI & DWI Laws in California

If You Are Stopped on Suspicion of DUI

As DUI laws have gotten tougher, arrests have gone down. Since 1997, there has been a reduction in the overall number of DUI arrests in California. You can learn more about DUI statistics in the California Drivers Handbook.

When you sign for your driver’s license, you give what is known as “implied consent” to having your breath, blood, or urine tested, if you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI.

If you refuse to take the test you face an implied consent suspension, meaning your driver’s license will be immediately suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (though it’s the officer who physically takes it away). If you’re later convicted of DUI anyway based on other evidence, you could face jail time, a higher fine, longer DUI program requirements, and ineligibility for a restricted license.

If you take the test and register 0.08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or above, the officer will take your license away. You may request an administrative hearing within 10 days working days to lift this suspension, but the court will impose it again if you’re found guilty.

Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits

A urine, breath, or blood test measures your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Illegal limits are:

  • 0.08% and above for most drivers
  • 0.04% for commercial driver license (CDL) holders
  • 0.01% and above for those younger than 21 and those on probation for a DUI

If the officer suspects you’re on drugs, you’ll have to take a blood or urine test.

Medication

Even if you’ve just taken too much allergy medicine, you can still face DUI charges. Therefore, know the side effects of any medication you are taking before you get behind the wheel. California law doesn’t distinguish among prescription, over-the-counter (OTC), and illegal drugs.

Handcuff Picture

DUI Penalties

First offense DUI penalties are very stiff. You might:

  • Be sentenced to up to six months in jail.
  • Fined anywhere between $390 and $1,000.
  • Pay a “penalty assessment” equal to approximately three times the amount of your fine.
  • Six-month license suspension.
  • Be required to complete a DUI program. Depending on your BAC, you might have to enroll in a program that lasts as long as nine months.
  • Pay a reissue fee of $125 to have your driver’s license reinstated.
  • File an SR-22 (proof of financial responsibility) with the DMV.

Ignition Interlock Law

Ignition interlock devices are required for all first-time and repeat DUI offenders in the following counties: Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento and Tulare.

Subsequent Convictions

Subsequent offense DUI penalties (i.e., a second or third offense) mean you’ll face license suspension for two to four years. Once the revocation period has ended, and you have completed a nine-month DUI course, you may be permitted to drive a vehicle as long as it has an ignition interlock device (IID) (you have to blow an alcohol-free breath into the IID to start your car). You will not be granted a restricted license allowing you to drive to and from the DUI course.

If someone gets injured or killed, you could be tried under the California Three Strikes law (meaning jail for 25 years to life), as well as be sued in civil court. You’ll also have an administrative hearing with the California DMV, face higher fines, and lose your license for up to four years.

Underage Drivers

Underage DUI penalties are stiffer. Unless you are employed by someone who is licensed to sell alcohol, and are carrying a closed and sealed container in the course of your employment, it is illegal for a minor to have any alcohol in their vehicle―even in a closed container―unless you’re accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Underage BAC Limits

A BAC reading of 0.01% or higher gets you arrested and your license confiscated. You’ll get a 30-day temporary license and your regular license suspended for one year. This is before the court penalties that will be imposed upon a DUI conviction.

Restricted License

If this is your first DUI conviction and you are enrolled in a DUI program as ordered by the court, you may apply for a restricted license that will allow you to drive to and from work and to and from your DUI program classes.

 

original post located at: http://www.dmv.org/ca-california/automotive-law/dui.php

California Non Owner SR22 Insurance

California Non-Owner Sr22 Insurance Explained

California SR22 Insurance – Every driver in the state of California is required to prove financial responsibility or “SR22 Insurance” in order to operate any vehicle. Most drivers simply purchase a car insurance policy and carry a proof of insurance card in their vehicle in the event they are ever stopped by an officer or involved in an accident. Certain drivers, however, are required to provide proof to the state that they have and are maintaining their financial responsibility (SR22)  in order to keep their driving privileges and it must be kept current in order to prevent driver’s license suspension.

An SR22 is actually a rider to your auto insurance policy, indicating proof of financial responsibility. It is issued when required by the state (California), typically for those drivers who have been convicted of certain driving related offenses. Your insurance carrier must submit an SR22 form to the state for you and it must be kept current for the mandated period, which according to the Department of Motor Vehicles (www.dmv.ca.gov) is typically three years.

California SR22 Auto Insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years from the date of conviction. The SR22 is generally mandated for any Drunk Driving / Alcohol related incident. The insurance coverage required on a California SR22 is 15/30/5. This means:

  • $15,000 is the maximum amount paid per person for Bodily Injury (BI)
  • $30,000 is the total amount paid by the insurance company for injuries sustained by all persons in the event of an accident. This is generally done on a “first come, first serve” basis. Therefore, any claims made against the insurance company in excess of the policy maximums will be held against the insured themselves.
  • $5,000 is the total amount paid out on Property Damage (PD)

Drivers in California may be required to file an SR-22 with the Department of Motor Vehicles for a number of reasons including:

  • Involved in motor vehicle accident and not being insured
  • Convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs
  • Driving with a revoked license
  • Restricted license