New Mexico SR22 Insurance

New Mexico SR22 Insurance Requirements

New Mexico Non-Owner SR22

State law in New Mexico does require liability insurance but it follows the Tort system which means that the party who is at fault must pay for all injuries and damages. Not all Tort systems are alike so do some research as to how it affects you. The minimum required insurance coverage is as follows:

  • $25,000 for Bodily Injury Liability per person
  • $50,000 for Bodily Injury Liability per accident
  • $10,000 for Property Damage Liability for damage to property

These limits are the state minimum requirements but drivers may also choose higher limits and additional coverage, such as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, medical payments coverage and physical damage coverage for their vehicle. Having additional coverage could protect you and your assets in the event of a serious accident.

Drivers must carry proof of insurance and present it to any law enforcement officer if they stop you for a traffic violation or for any other reason.

New Mexico SR22 Quotes, Cheapest New Mexico SR22 Rates

New Mexico does not require the filing of a New Mexico SR22, however if you have an SR22 filed in another state and move to New Mexico, you must maintain the SR22 from the previous state.

The State of New Mexico has drunk driving laws that makes it illegal for a driver to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. New Mexico has lower BAC limits for drivers of commercial vehicles of .04 or higher and .02 or higher for drivers under the age of 21.

Punishment for driving while intoxicated (DWI) is not the same in New Mexico as it is in other states. The laws and penalties are very strict and the first offense is expensive. If you are convicted of a DWI offense you will be fined $500 and will be put in jail for 90 days.

In New Mexico the first conviction for a DWI carries the following penalties:

  • Jail up to 90 days
  • Alcohol evaluation at your expense
  • A $500 fine
  • Suspension of your license for up to 1 year
  • An ignition interlock device for your vehicle at your expense
  • Community service for 24 hours
  • DWI school for Driver’s Rehabilitation for alcohol or drugs
  • Treatment is a possibility

Subsequent DUI convictions cause the penalties to increase.

New Mexico has an implied consent law which means that you have given your consent to be tested to determine the alcohol or drug content of your blood, breath or urine if stopped by an officer and he suspects that you are driving while intoxicated. Refusal to submit to the test will result in your driver’s license being suspended for a period of 1 year and you will be charged with aggravated DWI which has stiffer penalties.


The information contained in the above article is intended as informational and does not constitute legal or insurance advice. Insurance requirements in the state of New Mexico are subject to change. Visit the New Mexico Division of Insurance at http://www.osi.state.nm.us/ or the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division at http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/ for current information.

Have you had a DUI or other driving offense that required form SR22 insurance filing or are you getting car insurance for the first time? Select SR22 Insurance can help – we offer car insurance in 40+ states for both preferred and high risk drivers. Call us toll free today at 855-438-7353 or use our car insurance quote form.