Category Archives: Florida and Virginia FR44 Insurance, Georgia SR22A Insurance, Indiana SR50 insurance and non owner SR22 Insurance

How long am I required to carry SR-22 Insurance in Nevada?

The state of Nevada requires driver’s that are convicted of a DUI to maintain SR-22 insurance for 3 continuous years in order to have their license reinstated.  It doesn’t matter when you decide that you would like your license back, you still have to purchase SR22 insurance. You are not able to just ” wait it out” for 3 years and then you get your license back. The clock starts ticking when the SR22 is purchased and you cannot have a lapse or the process starts over.   There is no way to get out of paying for SR 22 insurance if you want your license reinstated.  It is not a good idea to go 3 years without your license and without auto insurance anyways. The longer you wait to purchase your SR-22 insurance the higher the rates will be when you do decide to buy it.

Contact one of our Licensed Nevada SR22 Specialist at 1-855-678-6977 or CLICK HERE TO FILL OUT OUR FREE QUOTE FORM

Where can I find my Florida FR44 Case Number?

The State of Florida requires insurance companies who write policies with SR22 or FR44 filings to write only six-month, paid-in-full Auto policies for Florida customers needing SR22 or FR44 filings, that have case numbers beginning with a “2″ or “4.” These policies cannot be cancelled. Florida Auto customers will see the change on their policy at renewal, when they will only be offered a paid-in-full bill plan.

The following rules apply for SR22/FR44 filings with case number beginning with 2 or 4:

  • The customer must pay for the policy term in full.
  • Insurance companies can’t process a cancellation after the first 30 days of the original effective date of the first policy term.

Specific endorsement rules:

  • Insurance companies can process credit or non-premium endorsements at any point in the customer’s policy life cycle.
  • Insurance companies can only process additional premium endorsements if effective back to the first inception or if the policy is in “Renewal Work” or “Renewal Quote” status.
  • Insurance companies can’t endorse an SR22 or FL FR44 beginning with a 2 or 4 onto the customer’s policy unless the policy is in “Renewal Work” or “Renewal Quote” status. If not, customer’s policy will have to be cancelled and rewritten to comply with the state statute.
  • Because the customer needs to pay-in-full and the policy can’t cancel, the customer would need to rewrite to make an additional premium endorsement, then remove the SR22 or FR44 beginning with a 2 or 4 and cancel the policy.
  • In addition to these rules, Florida FR44 filings will continue to require higher liability limits (i.e., 100/300/50 or 350CSL (or higher)).

Three steps for applying for a hardship license in Florida

How to get a Florida Hardship License

If you have a suspended license in the state of Florida, follow the steps below to obtain a hardship license – so you can drive legally while getting your license back.

1. Sign up for the online 12 hour traffic school (ADI) class. One you’ve paid, you will receive a letter of enrollment.

2. Go to the Clerk of Court and get a “30 day search” of your driving record. This takes just a few minutes and they will give you a letter that provides information about your driving record.

3. After you’ve received the Letter of Enrollment from our Traffic School and a letter from the Clerk, you can go to the DMV and apply for a hardship license with a Hearing Officer. Later, you’ll still need to complete our 12 hour course within the deadline set by the DMV. If you are a “habitual offender” as indicated in the DMV Letter of Enrollment, you must complete the course before you can apply for the hardship license.

Online Traffic School Benefits

  • Take the course online course from the convenience and privacy of your home or work – No Classroom Necessary
  • Simple to use, no computer experience needed
  • Unlimited log-ins and log-outs so you can complete the course at your convenience – in your spare time
  • Get the certificate you need to get your full license back via email.

The Rules The steps above are for drivers that have had their license suspended in the state of Florida for points, as a habitual traffic offender (non-DUI related), or by court order. Some violations are not eligible for a hardship license:

Suspended license for being incapable of operating a motor vehicle safely Suspension is for one year. You are not eligible for a hardship license.

Conviction for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Suspension is for 180 days – 1 year. DUI School completion and treatment, if referred, is required. You then can apply for a hardship license in any Administrative Reviews Office where you live.

Traffic School Testimonials

12 Hour Traffic School TestimonialThe course’s user-friendliness made the ordeal almost a pleasure. By taking the sections individually over a series of days, I found myself more aware of my driving each new day, and now notice a marked improvement in my general attitude when I’m on the road. R.B. Ft. Myers

 

Hardship License TestimonialI was able to complete it during lunch and breaks at work… Thanks a bunch! B.W. St. Petersburg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(original article located at: http://www.lowestpricetrafficschool.com/florida/hardship-license.html )

Florida FR44 Insurance – How to File, What to Do, and How to Get it Cheap

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI in Florida, you’ll be required to obtain two insurance-related certificates in order to regain your driving privileges. These are the national SR22 form and the lesser-known FR44 form. While the procedure for obtaining the former has been documented exhaustively in print and online, there’s far less information available about the latter. Since the FR44 is a Florida-specific document that has few analogs elsewhere in the United States, it can be difficult to find reliable advice about procuring one.

First, it’s crucial to recognize the differences between the Florida SR22 and the Florida FR44. As a resident of a state that requires drivers to file an FR44 form, such as Florida and Virginia, you’ll most likely be required to pay upfront for your insurance coverage. In fact, Florida law prohibits insurers from charging monthly premiums on FR44 policies, which is more of a reason the insurance company will not “bend” on their billing options . This restriction is designed to protect the financial health of the insurers that operate the state and penalize DUI-convicted drivers in equal measure.

Unfortunately, the high cost of FR-44 policies means that this requirement will force you to make a substantial outlay in most cases, before getting back behind the wheel of your car. To make matters worse, Florida is notorious for its high insurance rates. After your DUI, it’s likely that your already-high auto insurance premiums will double overnight. Even if you have an impeccable driving record, you might be unable to find an FR44 insurance policy that costs less than $2,500 per year.   Additionally, you may have to pay for your policy in six-month increments.  If you have a new or financed vehicle, this is especially likely. Given the constraints of the “paid-in-full” rule issued by Florida’s insurance regulators, many insurance companies prefer to shorten the effective periods of their high-risk policies. Frequent renewals permit these companies to account for any changes in a driver’s accident history, criminal status or credit profile. What’s more, this arrangement enables DUI-convicted drivers to make smaller insurance outlays and put more of their hard-earned funds toward other DUI-related expenses.  Select Insurance Group can help with minimizing these daunting prices, as we shop and compare multiple insurance companies that specifically work with high-risk customers.  Many times we can find an adequate rate that is 1/4 of the cost of most of the “shopping” you will see out there and even offer insurance financing on some occasions.

Call us at 855-678-6977 or request a FREE QUOTE online from one of our licensed insurance specialists!

 

 

How to File an SR22 in Iowa Without a Vehicle

The State of Iowa requires drivers who have had their license suspended (e.g., OWI suspension) to purchase SR22 insurance as a condition of reinstatement. When one purchases SR22 insurance, the insurance company files an SR22 form (also known as a Certificate of Automobile Liability Insurance) with the Iowa Department of Transportation.

If you are trying to get your driver’s license reinstated, but you do not own a vehicle, you will need to purchase non-owner SR22 insurance. Your insurance company will then file a non-owner SR22 insurance form for you.

A non-owner SR22 insurance policy is a liability policy that only covers other vehicles and drivers in the event that you are involved in a future accident. It will not cover you or the vehicle you are driving.

What is Broad Form SR-22 Insurance?

What is Broad Form SR22 insurance?

Broad form SR22 coverage provides liability coverage for you as a person.  Most auto insurance policies insure a specific vehicle, but Broad form named operator coverage provides insurance on a specific driver.  It satisfies your legal need for liability insurance to drive a car.  It can also provide uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to protect you.

Handcuff Picture

Is Broadform insurance right for me? 1  Do you own mulitiple vehicles that don’t need physical damage coverage? 2  Do you not own a vehicle but want to have insurance if you borrow someone else’s automobile? 3  Do you just need the state required liability insurance? 4  Do you need an SR22 filing but your current auto policy does not offer it? Click Here For Fast, Free Quotes!

Broadform Insurance DOES NOT provide physical damage coverage for your car. Broadform Insurance DOES NOT cover other people you give permission to drive your car.

Cheap SR22 Insurance in California for Owners and Non Owners

What is California SR22 Insurance?

A CA SR22 document is issued by your insurance company to serve as a guarantee to the DMV that you have secured the minimum liability coverage required by state law. The California SR22 is required of drivers who have had their driver’s license suspended. California SR22 coverage provides monitoring, in effect, as the insurance company is required to notify the DMV if you allow your coverage to lapse. If you do allow your coverage to lapse, your driver’s license status will return to “suspended” status.

Who needs a California SR22?

Any driver whose license is suspended by the DMV must obtain an SR22 filing to reinstate their driver’s license in the state of California. In most states, one’s driver’s license may be suspended for a number of reasons, including drunk driving; too many moving violations within a one-year period; outstanding traffic and parking fines; accidents in which the driver was uninsured; and violation of DMV regulations.

How do I get a California SR22 Insurance policy?

To obtain a California SR22 filing, you must purchase minimum liability coverage on all vehicles registered to you, whether they are operational or non-operational. For those who do not own a vehicle, “non-owners” liability coverage is required.

How long do I need a California SR22 Filing?

The minimum period for SR22 filing is three years, though it may be longer, based on the severity of the violation(s).

How long has FR44 & SR22 Experts been helping California drivers with their SR22 filings?

FR44 & SR22 Experts has been helping drivers in California for more than a decade. We’re experts at helping California drivers get the best SR22 policies at the very best prices.

How do I reinstate my license?

The DMV determines when your driver’s license may be reinstated. DMV fees, typically a $10 reinstatement fee, are required to reactivate your driver’s license. In addition, any parking or moving violation judgments or fines will need to be resolved before reinstatement, as well.

In order to secure the best pricing for your SR22 and auto coverage, your current DMV Driving Record (MVR) Report will be needed. If you do not have a copy of your driving record, we can generate one in our offices for a $7 fee.

What if I don’t own a vehicle?

Not a problem! FR44 & SR22 Experts offers different “non-owner’s” or “Named Operator” policies in California to choose from. These policies are typically cheaper than conventional auto insurance policies and provide liability coverage for you while you are driving a vehicle that is not owned or registered to you. Your California SR22 follows your license, not your vehicle.

Why choose FR44 & SR22 Experts for your SR-22?

FR44 & SR22 Experts makes sure your policy is written correctly THE FIRST TIME so that you can avoid future fees or delays which can cause your California license to be suspended again.

You can call and speak with one of our Licensed FR44 & SR22 Experts SR22 Specialist at any time, if you need a quote or have questions about your policy.

As a broker, we will shop and re-shop your policy occasionally (at no cost to you) to ensure that you are always paying the lowest rates, no matter what type of policy you purchase from FR44 & SR22 Experts.

Penalties for Driving Drunk in Nevada

Nevada DUI Penalties

  • A first-time offender faces up to six months in jail or up to 96 hours of community service while dressed in distinctive garb that identifies the offender as a violator of Nevada’s DUI laws. A first-time offender is also subject to a fine ranging from $400 to $1,000. These offenders must also pay for and attend an education course on alcohol abuse. The driver’s license revocation period is 90 days. First-time offenders with a BAC of .18 or greater will be placed in an alcohol treatment facility for up to one year.
  • A person who commits a second DUI within seven years of the first conviction faces up to six months in jail or six months in residential confinement, which is the equivalent of house arrest. These offenders are also subject to pay a fine between $750 and $1,000 or perform an equivalent numbers of hours of community service while dressed in distinctive garb that identifies the offender as having violated Nevada’s DUI laws. Second-time offenders will also be placed in an alcohol treatment facility for up to one year. The driver’s license revocation period is one year.
  • A person who commits a third DUI within a seven-year period faces one to six years in prison and must pay a fine of $2,000 to $5,000. The driver’s license revocation period is three years.

Need SR22 Insurance in Nevada?  Click here for a FREE QUOTE

Civil Penalty

Those convicted of DUI in Nevada are required to pay a $35 civil penalty to the state.

When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Nevada?

  • Non-commercial drivers age 21+ are considered legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .08 or more.
  • Drivers of commercial vehicles are legally drunk when their blood alcohol concentration is .04 percent or greater.
  • Drivers under 21 are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .02 or more.

Ignition Interlock

A judge may order a person convicted of DUI for the first or second time to use an ignition interlock device for three to six months after driving privileges are restored if the offender’s BAC was less than .18. Use of an ignition interlock device, however, is mandatory for a period of 12 to 36 months after restoration of driving privileges in the following three situations: (1) where the offender has a BAC of .18 or greater; (2) where the offense is the third DUI violation in seven years; and (3) where the offender has a BAC of .08 or greater and causes death or serious bodily injury to another person.

Commercial Drivers

In addition to other penalties that may apply under Nevada’s DUI laws, a commercial driver who is convicted of DUI while operating any vehicle will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for one year. If, however, the offender was driving a commercial vehicle and transporting hazardous materials at the time, the disqualification period is three years. If a commercial driver commits a second DUI while driving any vehicle, the offender will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for life, which may or may not be reduced to a period of 10 years.

Handcuff Picture

Drivers Under 21

If a person under 21 commits a DUI with a BAC of .02 but less than .08, that person will receive a mandatory driver’s license suspension of 90 days. Underage DUI offenders are also required to undergo an evaluation to determine whether the offender is an abuser of alcohol. The offender can be charged up to $100 for the evaluation. Nevada law also permits drivers under 21 to be prosecuted and punished for DUI under the laws applicable to drivers 21 and older.

Dram Shop Liability

Nevada does not have a dram shop statute.

Criminal Penalties for Selling or Furnishing Alcohol to a Person Under 21

In Nevada, it is a crime to sell or furnish alcohol to a person under 21. Those who violate this law are subject to a jail term of up to six months and payment of a fine of up to $1,000. In lieu of all or part of this punishment, a judge may order the offender to perform community service work for up to 200 hours.

Penalties for Driving Drunk in Oregon

DRUNK DRIVING PENALTIES IN OREGON

GET A FREE QUOTE FOR OREGON SR22 INSURANCE HERE!

 The Criminal Penalties for drunk driving in Oregon or “Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII)” convictions are relatively uniform throughout the state of Oregon.  As a general rule, a DUII is a Class “A” Misdemeanor.  The charge is enhanced to a felony if you have been convicted of drunk driving three times in the last 10 years.

If this is the first time you have been charged for DUI in the last 10 years you may be eligible for Diversion.

MAXIMUM PENALTY

The maximum penalty for DUII is one year in jail and a $6,250 fine.

STANDARD CONDITIONS

While the standard conditions for a conviction for misdemeanor DUI vary in each county, the following is general guideline of the standard conditions imposed by the Courts and should not be interpreted as a guarantee of results.  Ultimately, the sentence is always within the discretion of the sentencing judge.

THREE YEARS PROBATION. Conditions of probation will include the following:

  • JAIL TIME

The actual amount of jail time will depend on the county and the number of prior convictions the defendant has for drunk driving.  There is a minimum 48 hours jail time imposed by statute for a DUII conviction or 80 hours community service.

Typical sentence:

1st Offense: 2-10 days jail
2nd Offense: 10-30 days jail
3rd Offense: 30-120 days jail

The Court may also consider the defendant’s criminal history, the level of intoxication or Blood Alcohol Concenstration (BAC) at the time of the offense, whether the incident involved an accident or injuries, reckless driving, and children in the vehicle in determining how much jail time will be required.

  • SUSPENSION OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES
    • If, within the prior five years, the defendant has not been convicted of a DUI, then the license suspension period is for one year. There is a 30-day waiting period to apply for a hardship permit.
    • If there has been a conviction for DUI in the last five years, the suspension is for three years. There is a 90-day waiting period for a hardship permit.
    • A third conviction for a DUI will result in permanent revocation of the driver’s license. The defendant can apply to the court after 10 years for restoration of driving privileges.
  • COMPLETE THE VICTIMS IMPACT PANEL CLASS A one-day class on the devastating results DUI accidents has had on the families of victims lost as a result of drug- and alcohol-related accidents. The price of the class is approximately $50.
  • ALCOHOL AND OR DRUG EVALUATION AND TREATMENT There is a $138 alcohol screening fee.
  • FINES AND FEES
    • 1st offense is $1000
    • 2nd offense is $1500
    • 3rd offense is $2000
    • Statutory fee: $150
    • Conviction fees: $130
  • RESTITUTION The court may impose restitution for any damage to person or property as part of a sentence.
  • VEHICLE IMPOUNDED A court may impound a vehicle of someone convicted for their 2nd offense of DUI
  • IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE (IID) As of January 1, 2008, a person convicted of DUI must install an IID in any vehicle they are going to operate.  A first conviction requires the use of the device for one year after the end of the suspension period before becoming eligible for full reinstatement.  A second conviction requires the use of the device for two years after the end of the suspension period. This device is also required for conviction related hardship permits as well.
  • OBEY ALL LAWS Any law violations during probation can result in jail time or other sanctions.
  • FELONY DUI SENTENCING A person commits the crime of Felony DUI if they have been convicted of three prior DUI offenses in the 10 years prior to the date of the current offense.
  • MAXIMUM PENALTY Felony DUI is a class “C” felony. The maximum penalty is 5 years in prison and a $100,000 fine.

SENTENCING GUIDELINES All felonies are subject to the Oregon Sentencing Guidelines. The sentencing guidelines are used to determine the sentence for felony convictions. It is a combination of a defendant’s criminal history and the legislature’s determination as to the crime seriousness of the offense.

Felony DUI is a level “6″ offense on the guidelines grid. The minimum criminal history score for someone charged with felony DUI is a “D” because three prior DUI convictions are considered to be the equivalent of one person felony. The Oregon Sentencing Guidelines consider person crimes more seriously for sentencing purposes, thus giving them a higher score. The presumptive sentence for a “6D” (the presumptive sentence for a felony DUI conviction with no other convictions but the three prior DUI’s) is 13-14 months in prison.

The Oregon Sentencing Guidelines require there be 2 years of Post Prison Supervision upon completion of a penitentiary sentence for a level “6″ offense

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(original article located at: http://pfs2law.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/drunk-driving-penalties-in-oregon/)

Texas SR-22 Insurance – Questions and Answers

Why would I need Texas SR22 insurance?

There are certain occurrences which may force you to obtain Texas SR-22 insurance.

  • You may fail to supply proof of standard liability insurance when it is requested (by a police officer, for instance).
  • You may incur four qualifying moving violations over a 12-month period (or seven within a 24-month period).
  • You may become involved in an auto accident in which you are uninsured.
  • You may be convicted of driving while intoxicated.

All of these scenarios have one thing in common: they generally result in the suspension of your driver’s license for a certain period of time. After that time has expired, you can apply to have your license reinstated — but as part of the process, you will have to acquire SR22 insurance. Also, you must continue buying SR22 insurance for two years after your license has been reinstated.

How is Texas SR22 insurance different from standard auto insurance?

Texas SR22 insurance is similar to standard auto insurance in many ways. But the main difference is that unlike regular auto insurance, the company that provides you with SR22 insurance is mandated by law to notify the Texas Department of Public Safety if your policy expires. In other words, with SR22 insurance, the state will be made aware of the fact that you are an uninsured driver.

In addition, the state requires a special certificate by an insurance company when you are applying for reinstatement of your driver’s license. This means that you cannot simply present an insurance card or binder as proof of financial responsibility in the event of an accident. An insurer must send you a different notification which must be given to the Texas DPS in order to lift a driver’s license suspension.

Handcuff Picture

How much Texas SR-22 coverage will I need?

The minimum amount of coverage you must obtain with SR22 insurance is the same as it is for drivers with standard auto insurance policies. In Texas, this works out to $30,000 for each person who is injured in an accident which is your fault, with a maximum of $60,000 per incident. Of course, you may buy more coverage with SR22 insurance if you want to do so.

Is Texas SR22 insurance more expensive than standard auto insurance?

The fact that you are obtaining SR22 insurance in the first place (because you have done something to necessitate the suspension of your driver’s license) means that you will be placed in a higher risk category — and will therefore have to pay more than you otherwise would to remain insured.

How can I get Texas SR22 insurance?

Not all auto insurance companies offer SR22 insurance. Those who do can notify the Texas DPS that you have obtained the necessary policy in order to get your driver’s license back. If you’d rather do that yourself, you can ask for the appropriate form from your insurer and mail it to the Texas DPS’s Safety Responsibility Division, P.O. Box 15999, Austin, TX, 78761. (There are also four offices across the state where you can file the SR22 form in person — one each in Houston, Austin, the Dallas area, and near San Antonio.)

Handcuff Picture

When do I have to renew my Texas SR22 insurance policy?

Finally, if you buy SR22 insurance, you will have a smaller margin of error when it comes time to renew your policy. With standard insurance, you can renew your policy right up until the day it expires (or even after that, if you do not drive in the interim). However, companies that provide SR22 insurance are obligated to inform the Texas DPS if the policy is not renewed within 15 days of its expiration date. A non-renewal can result in a suspension of the policyholder’s driver’s license.

It can sometimes be a hassle to acquire Texas SR22 insurance. But if you know all the requirements, you can obtain the proper coverage, get your driver’s license back, and become a lawfully insured driver once again.