Author Archives: SRidgeway

Texas Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Texas Non Owner SR22 Insurance Explained

How do you qualify for a Texas Non Owner SR22 Insurance Policy? We’ll explain.

Texas SR22 Requirements

Whether you purchase an Owner or Non Owner policy, the Liability Coverage options must be at least:

  • $30,000 for an injury to a single person in a single incident
  • $60,000 for an injury to multiple people in a single incident
  • $25,000 for any property damage that may have been caused

How to Get Your Texas Driver’s License Reinstated Quickly

What is Texas Non Owner SR22 Insurance?

Non-owner SR22 insurance is an insurance policy covering individuals while they are operating motor vehicles that are not owned by these individuals or vehicles that are not furnished for the regular use of these people. Non-owner SR22 policies typically include liability, medical payments, and uninsured motorist coverage’s. Non-owner  SR22 policies do not include any physical damage (comprehensive & collision,) towing reimbursement, or rental reimbursement coverage. In addition, non owner insurance does not cover:

  1. Any car that is titled under the insured’s name or his/her spouse.
  2. Cars driven in the course of business transaction/ business autos.
  3. Any vehicles used by the individual on regular basis.

Texas Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Non-owner SR22 filing is secondary insurance, and is not a substitute for vehicle insurance. A person is required to show a proof of insurance on the vehicle driven in case he/she gets pulled over by the police. The fact that the operator has a non-owner coverage will not excuse the operator for not having coverage on the vehicle. In every state, auto insurance is mandatory, and you are in compliance with the mandatory insurance law if you have vehicle liability insurance (not non-owner) in certain minimum limits.

Non-owners SR22 insurance can be very beneficial in situations where people want to have extra protection. The coverage, for example, can be very helpful in situations where the insured rents a vehicle. Also, non-owner SR22 can be beneficial in situations where people may need to comply with certain legal or contractual obligations. Some people who are required to have financial responsibility filing (SR22) but do not own a vehicle may purchase a non-owner policy with a (SR22) filing. Also, people who want to get extra protection while they are driving other people’s vehicles – friend’s vehicle- (that must also be insured) may also get non-owner coverage. Certain contractors may be required to have coverage for ‘non owned auto’ as part of a legal contract with others.

California Non Owner SR22 Insurance

California Non Owner SR22 Insurance Explained

How do you qualify for a California Non Owner SR22 Insurance Policy? We’ll explain.

California SR22 Requirements

Whether you purchase an Owner or Non Owner policy, the Liability Coverage options must be at least:

  • $15,000 for an injury to a single person in a single incident
  • $30,000 for an injury to multiple people in a single incident
  • $5,000 for any property damage that may have been caused

How to Get Your California Driver’s License Reinstated Quickly

What is California Non Owner SR22 Insurance?

Non-owner SR22 insurance is an insurance policy covering individuals while they are operating motor vehicles that are not owned by these individuals or vehicles that are not furnished for the regular use of these people. Non-owner SR22 policies typically include liability, medical payments, and uninsured motorist coverage’s. Non-owner  SR22 policies do not include any physical damage (comprehensive & collision,) towing reimbursement, or rental reimbursement coverage. In addition, non owner insurance does not cover:

  1. Any car that is titled under the insured’s name or his/her spouse.
  2. Cars driven in the course of business transaction/ business autos.
  3. Any vehicles used by the individual on regular basis.

California Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Non-owner SR22 filing is secondary insurance, and is not a substitute for vehicle insurance. A person is required to show a proof of insurance on the vehicle driven in case he/she gets pulled over by the police. The fact that the operator has a non-owner coverage will not excuse the operator for not having coverage on the vehicle. In every state, auto insurance is mandatory, and you are in compliance with the mandatory insurance law if you have vehicle liability insurance (not non-owner) in certain minimum limits.

Non-owners SR22 insurance can be very beneficial in situations where people want to have extra protection. The coverage, for example, can be very helpful in situations where the insured rents a vehicle. Also, non-owner SR22 can be beneficial in situations where people may need to comply with certain legal or contractual obligations. Some people who are required to have financial responsibility filing (SR22) but do not own a vehicle may purchase a non-owner policy with a (SR22) filing. Also, people who want to get extra protection while they are driving other people’s vehicles – friend’s vehicle- (that must also be insured) may also get non-owner coverage. Certain contractors may be required to have coverage for ‘non owned auto’ as part of a legal contract with others.

Alabama Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Alabama Non Owner SR22 Insurance Explained

How do you qualify for an Alabama Non Owner SR22 Insurance Policy? We’ll explain.

Alabama SR22 Requirements

Whether you purchase an Owner or Non Owner policy, the Liability Coverage options must be at least:

  • $25,000 for an injury to a single person in a single incident
  • $50,000 for an injury to multiple people in a single incident
  • $25,000 for any property damage that may have been caused

How to Get Your Alabama Driver’s License Reinstated Quickly

What is Alabama Non Owner SR22 Insurance?

Non-owner SR22 insurance is an insurance policy covering individuals while they are operating motor vehicles that are not owned by these individuals or vehicles that are not furnished for the regular use of these people. Non-owner SR22 policies typically include liability, medical payments, and uninsured motorist coverage’s. Non-owner  SR22 policies do not include any physical damage (comprehensive & collision,) towing reimbursement, or rental reimbursement coverage. In addition, non owner insurance does not cover:

  1. Any car that is titled under the insured’s name or his/her spouse.
  2. Cars driven in the course of business transaction/ business autos.
  3. Any vehicles used by the individual on regular basis.

Alabama Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Non-owner SR22 filing is secondary insurance, and is not a substitute for vehicle insurance. A person is required to show a proof of insurance on the vehicle driven in case he/she gets pulled over by the police. The fact that the operator has a non-owner coverage will not excuse the operator for not having coverage on the vehicle. In every state, auto insurance is mandatory, and you are in compliance with the mandatory insurance law if you have vehicle liability insurance (not non-owner) in certain minimum limits.

Non-owners SR22 insurance can be very beneficial in situations where people want to have extra protection. The coverage, for example, can be very helpful in situations where the insured rents a vehicle. Also, non-owner SR22 can be beneficial in situations where people may need to comply with certain legal or contractual obligations. Some people who are required to have financial responsibility filing (SR22) but do not own a vehicle may purchase a non-owner policy with a (SR22) filing. Also, people who want to get extra protection while they are driving other people’s vehicles – friend’s vehicle- (that must also be insured) may also get non-owner coverage. Certain contractors may be required to have coverage for ‘non owned auto’ as part of a legal contract with others.

Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Non Owner SR22 Insurance Explained

What exactly is a Non Owner SR22 and how does it differ from an Owner policy? We’ll clear things up for you and make sure you’re getting exactly what you need in order to have your Driver’s License reinstated quickly and affordably.

What is a Non Owner SR22?

All States with the exception of Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania have situations where residents may be required to carry an SR22 policy.

If you’re required to carry SR22 insurance, but you don’t own a vehicle, you will qualify for a Non Owner SR22. Not only is this the easiest type of SR22 insurance to obtain, but it’s by far the cheapest route to take. You’ll still need the mandatory Liability Limits on your policy, which varies from State to State, but since there’s no vehicle for the insurance company to cover, the policy is far less expensive.

An SR22 itself is not actually insurance. It’s proof that you are carrying the required liability limits as designated by your State. A Non Owner SR22 allows you to transport that coverage to any vehicle you may drive, but do not have regular access to and don’t own. It also allows you to get your driver’s license reinstated.

How to Get Your Driver’s License Reinstated Quickly:

Why Would You Have to Carry an SR22?

While all of the reasons are extensive in their entirety, some of the top ones are:

  1. Convicted of Driving Under the Influence
  2. Driving without a valid insurance license
  3. Driving without insurance on the vehicle
  4. Being labeled as a Habitual Traffic Offender
  5. Failure to stay up to date on Child Support
  6. Serious driving infractions such as Reckless Driving
  7. Letting a previous SR22 policy lapse

How Much Does a Non Owner SR22 Cost?

SR22 pricing varies from State to State. Pricing also varies from insurance company to insurance company. While the filing fees generally range between $15 and $50, the average filing fee itself is around $25. The policy itself can vary in price from under $100 to over $2,000 and anywhere in between. Your age, marital status, gender, address, driving record, etc are all factored into the total SR22 pricing equation. By shopping the market for the lowest priced policy, you can fulfill your SR22 requirement without overpaying.

Non Owner SR22

How Long Do You Need to Carry a Non Owner SR22?

This also varies from State to State. In some States it varies depending on the offense that caused the need for an SR22. Typically you need to carry it for 3 years, but in some cases it can be anywhere from one to five years.

One of the most important pieces of advice is to Never let your SR22 policy expire or lapse until you’ve fully complied with your restriction period. In most States, if your policy does lapse, you will go back to square one and you’ll have to repeat the Entire process again!

If you specifically need other types of insurance such as a Florida SR22 or Florida FR44 insurance (all available in the Non Owner SR22 flavor), you can visit www.MyFloridaSR22.com, www.MyFloridaFR44.com, or www.Cheap-Florida-FR44.com.

California SR22 Insurance FAQ’s

California SR22 Insurance Explained

When do you need a California SR22?

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, driving without insurance, reckless driving, or a number of other infractions, you’ll need a California SR22. The SR22 stands for Financial Responsibility and it’s actually a document that provides proof that you’re carrying the 15/30/5 liability limits (explained later). You must keep your SR22 in place throughout the duration of your conviction period or your driver’s license will be suspended again.

What Coverage is Needed on a California SR22?

You must maintain the following liability coverage:

  1. $15,000 for bodily injury or death on a single individual
  2. $30,000 for bodily injury or death on two or more persons in one accident.
  3. $5,000 for property damage or destruction.

What Types of California SR22’s are Available?

Non-Owner California SR22

If you don’t own a vehicle, but still want your driver’s license reinstated so you can operate vehicles you don’t own, you’ll want a Non-Owner California SR22. This option is by far the cheapest option since there’s no liability to the insurance company to cover an automobile.

Owner California SR22

If you do own a vehicle,  you need to include your vehicle coverage with your SR22 Responsibility Filing. While this is far more expensive than a Non-Owner SR22, it will be required in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.
California SR22 Insurance

How Do You File a California SR22 Form?

  1. You must purchase a California SR22 Policy. The liability requirements must minimally be 15/30/5.
  2. You must pay all fees owed to the California DMV.
  3. Your SR22 Certificate must be filed with the California DMV. Electronic filing is the fastest option available.
  4. Maintain your insurance policy for a period of 36 months. If you do not keep your policy current, your driver’s license will be suspended again.

How to Contact the California DMV

  1. Online at www.dmv.ca.gov
  2. Postal Mail: DMV, PO Box 997405, Sacramento, CA 95899-7405
  3. By Phone: 1-800-777-0133
** All information provided by www.SR22Coverage.com

Texas SR22 Insurance FAQ’s

Texas SR22 Insurance

In a nutshell, Texas SR22 Insurance requires 30/60/25 coverage and must be carried for a minimum of 2 years. Continue reading for a more in-depth explanation.

What is a Texas SR22?

An individual that has had their driving privileges revoked or suspended due to an automobile accident, judgement, or conviction will be required to carry Texas SR22 Insurance. The certificate must be filed with the DPS and maintained for a period of 2 years and must include 30/60/25 liability limits (explained later).
An SR22 is a Financial Responsibility Certificate, which is a type of motor vehicle liability insurance. Many companies can provide an SR22, but few honestly want this type of driver. Therefore, you’ll want to contact an insurance broker that can shop the market, especially with those niche insurance carriers that you may not have heard about. While all Texas SR22 policies must carry a regulated amount of liability insurance, the pricing can vary greatly.

What Coverage Must be Included on a Texas SR22?

You must maintain the following liability coverage:
  1. $30,000 for bodily injury or death on a single individual.R
  2. $60,000 for bodily injury or death on two or more persons in one accident.
  3. $25,000 for property damage or destruction.

What Types of Texas SR22’s are Available?

Basically SR22’s fall into 2 separate categories; Non-Owner SR22 and Owner SR22.

Non-Owner Texas SR22

If you don’t own a vehicle, but still want your driver’s license reinstated so you can operate vehicles you don’t own, you’ll want a Non-Owner Texas SR22. This option is by far the cheapest option since there’s no liability to the insurance company to cover an automobile.

Owner Texas SR22

If you do own a vehicle,  you need to include your vehicle coverage with your SR22 Responsibility Filing. While this is far more expensive than a Non-Owner SR22, it will be required in order to have your driver’s license reinstated.

Driver’s License Reinstatement Requirements

In order to have your driver’s license reinstated after an SR22 has been ordered you must do two things:
  1. Pay any required reinstatement fees imposed by the DPS. You can find out what you owe by visiting the Texas DPS website.
  2. Obtain and maintain a valid Texas SR22 Financial Responsibility. The SR22 must be filed with the DPS, which most insurance companies will do for you electronically.
Once you have complied with these two mandates,  your driver’s license status will be changed from “ineligible” to “eligible” on the Texas License Eligibility website.
Texas SR22 Insurance

How to Contact the Texas DPS

While most correspondence can be filed electronically, there are alternate methods of providing the Texas DPS with your required documentation.

Mailing Address

Texas Department of Public Safety
Enforcement and Compliance Service
P.O. Box 4087
Autin, TX 78773-0320

Fax Number: 512-424-2848

Email: driver.improvement@dps.texas.gov

Florida Non-Owner SR22 Insurance Policies

What if I need an SR22, but don’t own a vehicle in the State of Florida?

Simply put, you’ll need a Non-Owner Florida SR22 Auto Insurance Policy.

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) wants to know you have the abilty to cover any future automobile accidents in the State of Florida with an active insurance policy. This is accomplished via a form called an SR22. Basically the insurance company reports the existence of your insurance policy to the DMV on a monthly basis. While confusing to some, it’s really that simple. Even if you don’t own a vehicle in the State of Florida, you’re now covered by State Minimum Requirements while driving any automobile. A Non-Owner’s SR22 can be paid in full for 6 months or, in most cases, you have the option to make monthly payments.

If you do own a vehicle, and you need that vehicle to be listed on your SR22 policy, you’ll want an Owner’s SR22 policy instead. This is the same concept as a Non Owner’s SR22, but your vehicle will be clearly listed on the policy itself. Obviously an SR22 Owner’s Policy will be more expensive than an SR22 Non-Owner’s policy.

Florida Non Owner SR22 Insurance Policy

To obtain a Non-Owner SR22 policy in the State of Florida, simply contact a reputable insurance agency. Not all Automobile Insurance Companies offer SR22’s and the pricing differs dramatically. An Insurance Broker can search the market and identify the best coverage for the price.

From a liability standpoint, your Non-Owner Florida SR22 will be applied in a secondary fashion to the Primary Insurance on the vehicle. Therefore, if you’re driving someone else’s car, and you have an accident, it will be their insurance that bears the bulk of the responsibility. Only after their limits have been exhausted will your SR22 policy be applied.

If you carry a Florida Non-Owner SR22 Insurance policy, and you do purchase an automobile, you’ll need to contact your insurance company so your policy can be converted to an Owner’s Policy. If you don’t do this, and you have an accident, your coverage on the Non-Owner SR22 Policy may be denied.

State By State Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

State-by-State Minimum Coverage Requirements

All states have financial responsibility laws that either explicitly or in effect require you to purchase at least some auto insurance. Although coverage requirements vary from state to state, you will typically need to buy some level of liability coverage. Other types of auto insurance coverage may be optional or required, depending on the state in which you live.

Auto insurance coverage: the basics

Auto insurance coverage is typically broken down into separate components:

  • Liability coverage: This provides protection for claims made against an insured, where the use of an insured vehicle caused bodily injury or property damage to someone else
  • Medical payments coverage or personal injury protection: This provides coverage for various medical expenses incurred by the insured and others as a result of an accident, regardless of negligence or liability on the part of the insured
  • Collision coverage: This provides coverage for losses that the insured suffers as a result of damage to his or her covered vehicle caused by a collision
  • Other-than-collision (also known as comprehensive) coverage: This provides coverage for losses that the insured suffers as a result of damage to or loss of a covered vehicle not caused by a collision (e.g., fire, theft, vandalism, falling objects, explosion, earthquake, flood, and civil commotion)
  • Uninsured motorist coverage: This provides coverage for losses that the insured and others sustain when injured through the negligence of an uninsured or unidentified hit-and-run motorist
  • Underinsured motorist coverage: This provides coverage for losses that the insured and others sustain when injured through the negligence of a motorist who has liability insurance, but the limit of that insurance is insufficient to pay for damages

State-by-state minimum coverage requirements

The following table provides up-to-date information on each state’s minimum coverage requirements. The first two figures refer to bodily injury liability limits, and the third figure refers to the property damage liability limit. For example, 20/40/10 means coverage up to $20,000 for each person injured in an accident, up to a maximum of $40,000 for the entire accident, and $10,000 worth of coverage for property damage. The state minimums are based on the most current information available. You should check your specific state requirements to verify these figures.

State Type(s) of Coverage Required Minimum Liability Limits
AL Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
AK Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 50/100/25
AZ Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 15/30/10
AR Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
CA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 15/30/5
CO Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/15
CT Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist 20/40/10
DE Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 15/30/10
DC Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
FL Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 10/20/10
GA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
HI Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 20/40/10
ID Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/15
IL Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 20/40/15
IN Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/10
IA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 20/40/15
KS Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
KY Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 25/50/10
LA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 15/30/25
ME Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist 50/100/25
MD Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 20/40/15
MA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 20/40/5
MI Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 20/40/10
MN Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist 30/60/10
MS Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
MO Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
MT Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/10
NE Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
NV Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 15/30/10
NH Financial Responsibility Only, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
NJ Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability (Standard Limits Shown), Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 15/30/5
NM Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/10
NY Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
NC Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 30/60/25
ND Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
OH Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 12.5/25/7.5
OK Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
OR Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/10
PA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 15/30/5
RI Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
SC Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
SD Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/25
TN Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/15
TX Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/25
UT Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection 25/65/15
VT Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist 25/50/10
VA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 25/50/20
WA Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/10
WV Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability, Uninsured Motorist 20/40/10
WI Financial Responsibility Only, Uninsured Motorist 50/100/15
WY Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 25/50/20

Is the minimum coverage required enough coverage?

Keep in mind that the figures given in the preceding table represent only required minimums. In many cases, it will be in your best interest to purchase coverage above and beyond the minimums (including collision and other than collision) so that you’re adequately protected. With bodily injury liability, for instance, most insurance professionals recommend that your coverage limits be at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.

How Do I Get a Florida FR44 Insurance Policy?

Finding the Right Insurance Company for My Florida FR44

The process of obtaining a Florida FR44 insurance policy is relatively simple. Of course simple is a subjective term, but if you follow these instructions, it will be as easy as possible.

The first step is to contact a reputable agent or agency. My preference is always to work with an Insurance Broker as they can shop multiple companies to find the lowest rate. Insurance pricing fluctuates throughout the year based upon a number of factors such as win/loss ratios, financial stability, etc. Having the ability to shop the market at the time of purchase is critical to ensuring you have the lowest price available at that precise point in time.

Which Type of Policy Do I Need? Owner vs. Non-Owner Florida FR44

Basically there are 2 options; Owner and Non-Owner Policies. In the most simplistic explanation, if you need an Automobile on your policy, you’ll go for an Owner Policy. If you don’t need an Automobile on your policy, you’ll go for a Non-Owner Policy. If at all possible, try to keep an automobile OFF of your policy since it will come with a “Hefty” price tag. A Non-Owner policy still allows you to drive any automobile you’d like and comes with State Minimum Insurance Requirements built in. Speak to your agent about the difference between an Owner and Non-Owner Policy for further clarification.

What Information Will I Need to Provide?

The information needed to run your quote, for the most part, will be:

  1. Full Name
  2. Gender
  3. Address
  4. Phone Number
  5. Birth Date
  6. Relationship Status
  7. State your license was issued from
  8. Driver’s License Number
  9. VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) if you own an Automobile and need it listed on the policy.
  10. Whether you’re looking for an Owner Policy or a Non-Owner Policy

You can have a quote run for another individual, besides yourself, with the information listed above.

How Do I Pay?

The preferred method of payment is MasterCard, Visa, or Discover. I say this because you’re giving payment to an entity you’ve just “met”. While an overwhelmingly vast majority of transactions work as advertised, there’s Piece of Mind in the fact that if things go wrong, you have recourse from the Credit Card Company.

How Long Does It Take For My Florida FR44 Insurance Policy To Be Filed?

Depending upon the organization, your policy could be filed in as little as 30 minutes. The caveat is that the DMV in most states will take 24 to 48 hours to acknowledge the filing. While you should have your entire policy emailed to you almost immediately, some DMV locations only acknowledge your policy when it shows up in their system. While I don’t personally understand this, we are talking about the DMV.

Where Can I Find a Reputable Agent or Agency?

There are number of insurance agencies that provide excellent services for obtaining a Florida FR44 insurance policy. And, as luck would have it, we happen to be one of those agencies (how convenient is that?). Click Here to Utilize our LOWEST PRICE QUOTING ENGINE. However, whether you purchase from us or not, make sure you work with a legitimate organization that’s familiar with the Florida FR44 process, paperwork, filing methods, etc. Improperly filed paperwork causes unnecessary delays and could come with additional fines.

Best of luck and hopefully the process of obtaining a Florida FR44 is a “Once in a Lifetime” experience!

Top Questions Regarding an SR22 Insurance Policy

What is an SR22?

An SR-22 is simply a car insurance company’s guarantee to the state that you are carrying the legally mandated coverage. An SR-22 by itself does not raise your insurance rates. Rather, it is the conviction that triggered the requirement– usually a DUI, driving without insurance or reckless driving — that causes your premiums to soar.

Many motorists mistakenly believe the SR-22 is an actual type of car insurance, but that’s not the case. The SR-22 is simply a form that your car insurance company files on your behalf with the state.

The form, usually filed electronically, provides the state with proof of financial responsibility by showing that you have the required insurance coverages in effect.  The state-mandated coverages may be the same as your state’s minimum liability requirements or different coverages with higher limits.   The exact auto insurance requirements differ from state to state.

You can get your SR-22 only from a car insurance company because the purpose of the form is to show that you have obtained, and will maintain, certain insurance coverage.  There is no other way to get the SR-22; you cannot get an SR-22 without buying a car insurance policy.

Why am I required to carry an SR22?

All states except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania may require a driver to obtain a SR-22.

Some of the reasons your state may require an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility include, but aren’t limited to, the following:

  • Failure to carry liability insurance on your vehicle
  • Conviction for driving without insurance
  • Driving uninsured and being involved in a motor vehicle accident
  • DUI, DWI or other major alcohol offense convictions
  • Serious moving violation (such as reckless driving) convictions
  • Accumulating too many DMV points
  • Being termed a habitual traffic offender
  • Needing to apply for a hardship or probationary permit (while license is suspended)
  • Reinstating your license after a suspension or revocation